Featured Product
This Week in Quality Digest Live
Standards Features
Mark Hembree
Rumors about ball performance meet quality assurance
Grant Ramaley
FDA seeks to align Part 820 with ISO 13485:2016; why that may not be enough.
MSMEs are encouraged to uphold the highest standards
Steven Brown
21st-century standard candles at NIST

More Features

Standards News
Requesting quotes for ‘Baldrige Reimagined’
Standards-based audit checklist and best practices provide support for growing technology in aerospace
Accelerating the adoption of digital twins in building industries
Tactics aim to improve job quality and retain a high-performing workforce
Demonstrating a commitment to keeping people safe and organizations running
Making the new material freely available to testing laboratories and manufacturers worldwide
Run compliance checks against products in seconds
Aug. 25, 2022, at 3:00 p.m. Eastern
Could be used for basic performance information on raw materials used in the most common 3D printers

More News



Twenty-Six Organizations Apply for 2015 Baldrige Award

This is the first award process using the simpler eligibility requirements announced in 2014

Published: Wednesday, June 17, 2015 - 11:21

(NIST: Gaithersburg, MD) -- Recognizing that performance excellence and innovation are the key ingredients in a recipe for success, 26 top-level organizations are vying to be honored as the “top chefs” in the nation by applying for the 2015 Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award. This year’s applicants include two small businesses, four educational organizations, 16 healthcare organizations, and four nonprofits.

This year’s group of applicants shows that the Baldrige leadership and performance management framework continues to have strong support across different sectors, especially in healthcare. There has been a double-digit number of applicants in the healthcare category and at least one healthcare Baldrige Award winner annually since 2002. Additionally, this marks the 16th consecutive year with at least two or more applicants in both healthcare and education—a streak that started with the introduction of the two categories in 1999.

Working in teams over the summer, members of the volunteer board of Baldrige examiners will evaluate applicant organizations against the seven categories of the 2015–2016 Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence, which is included in the 2015–2016 Baldrige Excellence Framework: leadership; strategic planning; customer focus; measurement, analysis and knowledge management; workforce focus; operations focus; and results. Examiners provide each applicant with 500 to 1,000 hours of review and a detailed report on the organization’s strengths and opportunities for improvement.

In late August, the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program’s judges panel will determine which organizations will receive site visits by examiner teams to verify information in the application and clarify questions that come up during the review. From those site-visited organizations, the 2015 Baldrige Award recipients will be selected in November 2015.

The 2015 Baldrige Award process is the first conducted under the simpler eligibility requirements announced last year (see the Oct. 7, 2014, Tech Beat article, “Eligibility Requirements Revised for 2015 Baldrige Award”).

The Baldrige Performance Excellence Program is managed by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), which is part of the U.S. Department of Commerce. The program raises awareness about the importance of performance excellence in driving the U.S. and global economies; provides organizational assessment tools and criteria; and develops and educates leaders in all types of organizations about the practices of national role models.

Thousands of organizations worldwide use the Baldrige Criteria to guide their operations, improve performance, and get sustainable results. This proven improvement and innovation framework offers organizations an integrated approach to key management areas. The criteria are regularly updated to reflect the leading edge of validated management practice.

The Baldrige Award is not given for specific products or services. Since 1988, 105 awards have been presented to 99 organizations (with six repeat honorees). You can search for award recipients here.

For more information on the Baldrige Program, go to www.nist.gov/baldrige.


About The Author

NIST’s picture


Founded in 1901, the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) is a nonregulatory federal agency within the U.S. Department of Commerce. Headquartered in Gaithersburg, Maryland, NIST’s mission is to promote U.S. innovation and industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards, and technology in ways that enhance economic security and improve our quality of life.