Featured Product
This Week in Quality Digest Live
Quality Insider Features
Eric Whitley
Robotic efficiency coupled with human intuition yields a fast, accurate, adaptable manufacturing system
Etienne Nichols
How to give yourself a little more space when things happen
InnovMetric Software
One software capable of operating portable metrology equipment and CMMs within the same user interface
Peter Nathanial
Lessons from finance
MIT News
Mens, Manus and Machina (M3S) will design technology and training programs for human-machine collaboration

More Features

Quality Insider News
System could be used to aid monitoring climate and coastal change
A centralized platform and better visibility are key improvements
Greater accuracy in under 3 seconds of inspection time
Simplify shop floor training through dynamic skills management
Oct. 17–18, 2023, in Sterling Heights, Michigan
Enables scanning electron microscopes to perform in situ Raman spectroscopy
For current and incoming students in manufacturing, engineering, or related field
Showcasing the latest in digital transformation for validation professionals in life sciences

More News

Quality Digest

Quality Insider

Applicants Sought for John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Awards

Published: Sunday, April 18, 2004 - 22:00

The Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations and the National Quality Forum are accepting applications for the John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Awards.

The Eisenberg awards recognize individuals and health care organizations that make significant contributions to improving patient safety. The awards are the namesake of the respected leader in health care who passed away on March 10, 2002. Eisenberg spearheaded government efforts to reduce medical errors and improve patient safety as director of the Federal Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.

"John Eisenberg made a lasting impression on health care in his commitment to improving the quality and safety of care delivered to patients," says Kennety W. Kizer, president and CEO of NQF. "The John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Awards program is our tribute to his life’s work."

Up to four awards are presented each year in the categories of individual achievement, system innovation (both nationally and locally) and research. Award winners are selected by a panel of experts. To be eligible for the individual achievement award, nominees must have demonstrated exceptional leadership in patient safety during their careers. Nominees for initiative/project-related achievement may be individuals or organizations that have made significant contributions to patient safety through system innovation or research.

Nomination forms for the John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Awards are available by clicking here or here. The deadline for nominations is May 27.


About The Author

Quality Digest’s picture

Quality Digest

For 40 years Quality Digest has been the go-to source for all things quality. Our newsletter, Quality Digest, shares expert commentary and relevant industry resources to assist our readers in their quest for continuous improvement. Our website includes every column and article from the newsletter since May 2009 as well as back issues of Quality Digest magazine to August 1995. We are committed to promoting a view wherein quality is not a niche, but an integral part of every phase of manufacturing and services.